passionpath


Applying Passion To Every Day Life
January 21, 2012, 12:17 am
Filed under: Passion, Personal Development | Tags: , , , , , ,

Whilst following Leo Babuata’s steps to finding my passion, i’ve realised something fundamental, that finding a passion is like looking for a book in a library.  Finding it is not what is important, using it is.  I’ve also realised that I don’t need to find my most complete passion in order to start applying passion to my everyday life and making myself and my family happier in the process.

So today I’ve been looking at how to apply passion to everyday life.  Many people say that if you do even a boring job with enthusiasm and to the best of your ability, you find yourself enjoying rather than enduring it.  It’s true, after the novelty of working in the frozen department at a big supermarket had worn off, the shifts that I enjoyed the most were my most productive, and it was my being productive that made me enjoy the shift, not my enjoyment causing the productivity.  By doing the best that I could, stacking the shelves neatly and meeting my targets as to how many boxes of things I was meant to put out on the shelves, made me feel discipline and proud of myself.  The saying goes, if a job is worth doing, it’s worth doing well, and I truly believe this.  Half doing a job just creates a sense of dissatisfaction and an underlying sense of a lack of self-worth.

So how to apply the principles of passion to everyday life.  Rather than seeing ‘passion’ as something extraordinary, see it as everything that you like, everything that you are interested in.  Are you interested in parenting, if you have children then probably you are, it’s difficult to avoid.  So make a little bit of time every day for your family, and when you are with them, spend the time focussing on them, not on the pile of washing in the corner or the television that’s on in the background (turn it off).  Take a moment to enjoy being with them, to see their smiles or hear their voices/giggles, whatever the things are that make you truly appreciate them.  Or are you interested in writing?  Then for just 15 minutes each day, allow yourself to write with no distractions, shut the door, turn off the radio and unplug your telephone.  For those  15 minutes immerse yourself in your writing.  If you are passionate about something, you wouldn’t allow other things to creep into the time that you have doing whatever it id you are passionate about.  A good example for sports enthusiasts would be if you are watching your team, would you be as capable of enjoying it if you were also trying to have a conversation on the telephone and cook dinner? No.

Each thing that you do with your day, whether it be spending time with a loved one or doing the ironing, stop multi-tasking.  Do whatever it is that you are trying to do, as if you were passionate about it.  I think that you will be amazed at not only how much more enjoyable it can be, but also how productive you are – leaving you even more time to discover various passions that you have.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

